Bismarck School Board

  • There are five School Board Members. The terms are 4-years long. The election is the second Tuesday in June. There is no limit to the number of terms a Board Member may serve. The Board elects officers at the July annual meeting including President and Vice President. Board Members receive agendas and related materials the week before meetings such as staff reports, background information, financial data, and other relevant materials. Board Members may contact the Superintendent for clarification of a particular item or to request additional information and background reports before the meeting.

    Mission: "Empower every learner to thrive."
    Vision: "Together, our strong relationships build inclusive, collaborative, and innovative environments that create agency and inspire a passion for learning, excellence, and discovery."

Board President

  • head shot of board member Dan Eastgate Dan Eastgate 
    Realtor, Venture Real Estate
    Area Director, Bismarck-Mandan Young Life
    First Term Ends: 2024

Board Vice President

  • Josh HagerJosh Hager
    Manager, Market Services
    WBI Energy, Inc.
    Strategic Plan Priority Area Portfolio - Operational Excellence  
    First Term Ends: 2026

Board Member

  • Board member Jon Lee head shot Jon Lee
    Commercial Real Estate Advisor, The CRA Group
    Owner, Bread Poets Franchising
    Strategic Plan Priority Area Portfolio - Personal Excellence  
    Second Term Ends: 2026



Board Member

  • Head shot of Board Member Amanda PetersonAmanda Peterson
    Director, Educational Improvement & Support
    ND Department of Public Instruction
    Strategic Plan Priority Area Portfolio - Learning Excellence
    First Term Ends: 2024  

Board member

  • Head shot of board member Donnell Preskey Hushka Donnell Preskey
    Government/Public Affairs Specialist
    ND Association of Counties
    Strategic Plan Priority Area Portfolio - Environmental Excellence  
    First Term Ends: 2024


  • Dr. Jeff Fastnacht headshot Dr. Jeff Fastnacht
    Bismarck Public Schools District Superintendent